Content and Information coming soon on Laochra Gael recipients in our Club. Check back soon


John Kelly

Back L-R; Patsy O’ Neill, Francis Grisewood, Martin McDermott, Pat O’ Neill, Michael McCarthy Front L-R; Paul O’ Neill, John Kelly, Willie Meagher, Liam Treacy, Denis Kelly


Francis Grisewood

Francis Grisewood – receiver of a Sean Gael award in 2016.


Anne Holmes

(Extract from ceremony booklet)

Cappawhite GAA Club is proud to nominate Anne Holmes as a worthy recipient of the Sean Gael Award for 2015. Anne was the first serving female officer of Cappawhite GAA Club. She came in as treasurer in 1993 and took over as secretary two years later. She remained in that position for ten years and, after taking a break for a number of years came back in as treasurer two years ago. Anne is a person of the highest integrity and has demonstrated a professional and diligent approach to her administrative duties. Anne is also a long serving member of the Lotto Committee which raises vital funds for both the club and the Community Centre. We thank Anne for her contribution to the club and we look forward to her continued participation for many years to come.


Tom Joe McGrath

Front furthest right; Tom Joe McGrath


Paul McCarthy

(Tipperary Live)

Paul McCarthy was born in Limerick Street, Cappawhite. He has a long and distinguished involvement with Cappawhite GAA Club.

In 1944 he was a played on the juvenile team which won the inaugural west juvenile hurling competition. A goalkeeper of note, he made his senior debut for the club in 1949.

He played with New Irelands in Dublin in 1950. He worked in London from 1951 to 1956. On his return he won a west junior championship in 1957.

He played on the Tipperary junior team in the Munster championship in 1958. He was captain of the St Vincent’s combination that won the west senior title in 1961.

The following year he was on the team which won Cappawhite’s first senior divisional title. He served as club PRO during the eighties.

As the oldest member of the team, which recently celebrated the 50th anniversary of winning Cappawhite’s first senior west title, he is a worthy recipient of the Sean Gael Award.


Jerry Creedon


Joe O’ Carroll


John Treacy


Willie Walsh